The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling

The Casual Vacancy by J K Rowling

The Casual Vacancy by J K Rowling (Photo credit: Gwydion M. Williams)

I wanted to read this book to see what kind of a book J. K. Rowling would write for adults. I actually did not finish this book. I am giving it four stars because I think the writing is, as usual, flawless and the well thought out.

So now you are asking why I did not finish? I am not in the ‘mood’ to read a book that is coarse. The story is rough and coarse. Maybe too real for me right now. Sometimes, not always but at times, I am not in the mood to read a book that has the “F” word on nearly every page and talks about kids masterbating behind closed doors or feeling-up girls.

Casual Vacancy – One must understand the meaning behind the term. J. K. Rowling does give us “yanks” a definition in the front of the book.

The story starts with a death and branches out to those impacted in one way or another. Some are sad, as friends and family should be, but others are jubilant. Others become reflective, for better or worse, about their own lives and what this means to them. It shows the darkness inside of people. I am not in the ‘mood’ to read abut this right now; however, I did want to post something about the book. Some may find it invigorating to read about the angst of everyday life and may wish to pick up this book as a result. Some may choose to hold off, as I am, until at a point where the book will have its most impact to the reader.

One thought on “The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling

Leave a Reply

