I am saddened

I am saddened today by what I have read in the news. I am disheartened by the behaviors of my fellow man. I was not there the night Zimmerman shot Martin. I don’t know what took place and neither do most of us. What I do know is our news media sources are tainted by the drive for sensationalism. In that drive they modified the 911 call and incited a nation to hate someone they don’t even know and “love” another unknown individual.

I know that political entities jumped onto the case without full knowledge of events. I know police officers did their jobs. I know most of what we know isn’t the whole story because those who should know kept it locked down while investigating and prosecuting.

I want to believe that all of those involved, including the jurors, know more than you and me and made the right judgement. I want to believe our system works the way it should.

I am sorry a child lost his life – for any reason. I am sorry his friends and family are in such pain, I cannot even imagine what it would be like to lose my child.

There is something else I know. I know we must put race behind us and accept others based on their behavior not their skin. My daughter grew up in a neighborhood where most of our neighbors were not “white” or American by birth. She played with children who were born in Africa, Japan, Pakistan and South Korea ,as well as, the US. They were just children, like her. When a new family moved in next to one of our friends and began mistreating them, my daughter came home crying. Thanks to that person I had to explain racism to my eight year old. Thanks for that. She did not get it then and she does not get it now at twenty one. You know what? I don’t get it.

I am a Euro-Afro-Asian-American mutt. I was born here. My dad’s people came over in 1732. He immediately became a trader with native Americans. His people never owned slaves. Many were abolitionist. My grandfather was a sharecropper. And yes, we are from the southern part of the US; Georgia, Mississippi, Florida and Texas. We still don’t care about the color of your skin, just the strength of your character.

My husband has a saying. “Ass-holes come in every color.” True.

We will never be done with racial tension, racism, whatever, until we put it on the back burner.

My question to everyone, regardless of ‘color’: Is the color of your skin the only thing that defines you? Is it the ‘thing’ you want me to use to define you?

I don’t. Because what you see is not always what you get.

Is our president black or white? Yes.

Is Zimmerman white? Depends.

Why should I focus on just one aspect of a person to determine his or her worth? I guess I still don’t get it.

From what I have read on other posts/bloggers many of you don’t get it either. So why are we still here doing the same things we have always done expecting a new result?

Leave a Reply

