Commuting

Today I decided to write about commuting because I spend about an hour a day traveling to work and an hour a day traveling from work. It literally takes me 1 hour from my doorstep to the front of the school building. Now, that all of that is not driving in traffic; some of that is sitting on a ferry looking at a beautiful surroundings. So, it’s hard when people ask if i mind riding the ferry because  the answer is yes, sometimes, when the weather’s bad, when it’s cold, when it’s still dark out, when I miss the ferry and have to wait for the next one.

But it’s also sometimes very nice. When the sun is shining as I’m crossing the ferry to go to work in the morning it wakes me up it lets me see the beauty around me. For example, the eagles I saw flying this morning and perched by the ferry or when I’ve had a really stressful day and I need to compose myself before getting home. I create a little decompression chamber inside my van.

I have been able to take many pictures along the fairy pictures of the water pictures of boats pictures of birds flying swimming catching fish. It can be very enjoyable to see what God has provided us to view and enjoy.

However, I get up at 5 o’clock every morning of the week and I really would like to sleep in or take that hour and go to the gym, but that’s not an option when you ride a ferry to and from work. From the Jamestown side I can catch the ferry every 30 minutes or so but from the Surry side it gets a bit tougher after 8 PM. You’re probably asking yourself why I’m driving with ferree after 8 o’clock at night when I’m a teacher. Well that’s pretty simple actually. As a teacher I’m required to stay after school and do work. Sometimes preparing for the next day, sometimes preparing for special events, sometimes holding special events, and sometimes I’m actually after school teaching. We have a tutoring program that runs Tuesdays and Thursdays after school, but that usually gets me home by 6:30 or 7 o’clock I also teach adult education which gets me home by 10 o’clock at night because on the Surry side, the ferry stops running every half hour and only runs on the hour.

I have been stuck on the serious side for an hour waiting. Which pretty much stinks because everything in Surrey closes before 10 o’clock at night and most nights before 9 o’clock. So if you’re stuck over there the only place you can get anything to eat is the 7-Eleven and to do that you have to turn around or back up on the ferry ramp and travel back to the one little stoplight in the center of town. There aren’t many options as to what to eat at a 7-Eleven.

I have learned to have snacks in my van at all times and plenty of water and a blanket. Sometimes you need to take a nap while you wait.

Well, we’re getting ready to dock in Surry and I have to travel nother 15 minutes to work. It’s now about seven o’clock, so I need to drink my tea and get ready for my day, goodbye everyone!

Leave a Reply

